Saturday, November 27, 2010

Metallica Live at Grimey's

Metallica has released a live album called “Live At Grimey’s”. The set was recorded on June 12, 2008 at the tiny 150-capacity venue The Basement, located below the Grimey’s independet Music record store in Nashville. The intimate gig was a warm-up for the band’s debut at the Bonnaroo Festival that same weekend.
Drummer Lars Ulrich told The Pulse of Radio why the band decided to put ‘Live At Grimey’s’ out through independent stores only. “Pretty much all of my musical inspirations and roots can be traced back to independent record stores, where I sort of put my whole collection together, so when they asked us if we would release the Grimey’s performance, it was what we call a no-brainer,” he said. “So people that are interested in getting this and supporting the independent record stores, the mom-and-pop record stores, I mean it definitely has that kind of good vibe to it.”
“Live At Grimey’s” is being sold as a standard CD and as a limited edition two-disc vinyl set in a gatefold sleeve.
The album will be sold only at the approximately 700 independent record stores that support the annual Record Store Day, held each year in April.
In announcing the album, Metallica posted at its web site, “We were honored to be part of the first-ever annual event celebrating independently owned records stores, a.k.a. Record Store Day, with an in-store at Rasputin Music in Mountain View, California on April 19, 2008 and we’re very proud to be a part of another special event with our friends at independent retail.”
‘Live At Grimey’s’

track listing:

01. No Remorse
02. Fuel
03. Harvester of Sorrow
04. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
05. For Whom The Bell Tolls
06. Master of Puppets
07. Sad But True
08. Motorbreath
09. Seek And Destroy

Who says you can't go home?!? This is a must own for any hardcore Metallica fan! stripped down to just the basics and in a small venue , it don't get much better than this! For anybody who loves the early days of Metallica, you will be in thrash metal heaven!

No comments: